NAAC Accredited B++ (CGPA 2.8)in PG and Above category


ENGLISH Department Notice | View All



The Department of English of Pub Kamrup College was established in the year 1972. The general mission of the English Department is to impart knowledge, information and techniques to the students so that they develop their ability to read comprehensively and write effectively for all practical purposes as well as in the real life situations. The Department realizes that literature thrives in a society and any attempt to alienate literature from the society will be a mere study for its own sake. Hence, while dealing with English literature and English language, especially for the students of the major course, various interdisciplinary aspects, such as social, folkloristic, linguistic, historical, political and economic, are brought into the domain of pedagogy.
The Department of English considers creative writing as a fertile area for the students of literature. Hence, its mission also includes developing cognizance of the students and transforming it into creative impulse. The faculties of the Department believe that every individual has something to contribute to the global enhancement of knowledge. Knowledge sharing platform facilitated by the advancement of digital technology in the form of website is a need of the hour so far as its usefulness and popularity among the men and women of 21st century. Visualizing this perspective, the Department entered into the digital world by launching a website of its own in the year 2018 with a hope that it will create a platform for the budding writers and supplement the students of English literature with new thoughts as well as new way of expressions. The URL of the website is

Department Society: ‘English Forum’. This forum was formed in the year 2002 with the name ‘ English Literature Development Society’
Wall magazine:
1. “Echo”, published annually.
2. Savoir fair : It was launched as a displayed medium since 2014
Present Permanent Faculties:
Dr. Dipen Bezbaruah , M.A. M.Phil, PhD
Mr. Montu Saikia , M.A.
Miss Vipasha Bhardwaj, M.A.
Former Faculties:

Mrs Dipanjali Bhuyan (Retired in 2000)
Mrs Damayanti Sethi Bai (Retired voluntarily in 2002)
Mrs Dipshikha Bhuyan (Retired in 2016)
Department Seminar/ conference : The Department organizes an annual lecture program under the banner of NAVAJYOTI BHATTACHARYYA MEMORIAL TRUST (NBMT), a trust founded on 30th June 2009, in the memory of Late Navajyoti Bhattacharyya, an ex student of the department. The secretary of the trust is the HoD of the Department and the Principal is the Chairperson of the trust.

Powered By S.S. Technologies